CIM: Many years of History.

Founded by the Yacht Club de France, the Yacht Club Italiano and the Real Club Náutico de Barcelona, with a combined yachting history of over 400 years, the Comité International de la Méditerranée (CIM) was established in 1926. However, its authority and skills have never been more useful than they are today, given the increasing complexity of classic yacht events.

Back in the 1920s, Blue Water Races were criss-crossing the Western Mediterranean with lavish parties being held at the start and finish, and during ports of call. The fact these were many and all well attended, meant was essential the need for a common authority, which began to organize new races, the first ones of them, in 1927 and 1928, were won by Moonbeam III (then called Eblis), the first winner of the CIM’s races.

After a break from 1939 to 1948, Blue Water Races reappeared and proved a great success with strong participation by the French, Italians and Spanish. So in 1950 the organizers decided to “resurrect” the CIM and at the first meeting in Paris on 15 January 1951 the representatives of the French, Italian and Spanish sailing Federations sat alongside those from the three founding yacht clubs.

Two very active yacht clubs would soon be co-opted by the founders to join them, namely the Yacht Club de Monaco (founded in 1953) and the Royal Malta Yacht Club (1835). From 1978, the CIM comprised these five clubs, which were officially united on 8 February 1979 under the Monaco Protocol. Afterwards joined the Société Nautique de Genève and the Hellenic Offshore Racing Club, but about ten years ago the Royal Malta Yacht Club and the Société Nautique de Genève forewent to take part.

In the 1960s, the CIM contributed alongside the RORC (Royal Ocean Racing Club) to the introduction of the IOR (International Offshore Rule) and more recently created its own Rules for the rating, which governs the vintage and classic yacht regattas in the Mediterranean as well in Argentina.

The CIM today, which by now is attending only to vintage yachts, is composed by five yacht clubs (Yacht Club de France, Yacht Club de Monaco, Yacht Club Italiano, Real Club Náutico de Barcelona et Hellenic Offshore Raging Club), four associations of vintage and classic yacht owners, AIVE (Italy), AFYT (France), RANC (Spain) and AMBC (Monaco), and five sailing federations . Together they comprise the Executive and Technical Committees; national federations (France, Greece, Italy, Monaco, Spain), which are committed to respecting the CIM’s rules on their territory.

It is this amalgamation of skills that has produced in the Mediterranean a classic yachting, the quality of which is envied all over the world.

St. Tropez, 28/09/08
Les Voiles des St. Tropez 2008
Photo:(C) ROLEX/Carlo Borlenghi
International Mediterranean Committee